WEST Midlands Police remain top of the Stourbridge and District Snooker League thanks to a 3-2 victory over third placed Norton Social A.

In another high-quality contest, Gavin Sloan gave the Police a great start with a break of 51 to account for Steve Mason, before Rob Pitt levelled matters at 1-1.

Maria Catalano then put the Police back in front again with a 78 break, before Norton came back to level again through Adam Ness.

Kev Franklin took the deciding frame despite Neil Rollinson making a 32 break to keep the Police five points clear of Norton.

Hotshots SC continue to be closest rivals to the Police as they picked up a 4-1 win at Kingswinford RBL.

Dave Green, Roy Stokes, Rob Howen and Milan Krstanovic all produced winning form while Gregg Reece provided Kingswinford with their only success, a prized win over the prolific Neil Beckley.

Amblecote Institute A kept their title hopes alive with a 4-1 success over Netherton Sports and Social where Den Petch proved a most effective super-sub by making it nine wins out of nine with breaks of 42, 32 and 32.

Moor Pool completed the double over Pockets SC with a 3-2 success despite a return to form for Pockets player Rich Pepperall who completed a 63 break, which could have been more.

And Moor Pool also won the battle of the B teams beating Pockets B 4-1 where Simon Dingley and Neil Gennard produced particularly fluent wins.

STOURBRIDGE Institute B have increased their lead at the top of the Division One with a 3-2 success at third-placed Kinver Constitutional A.

Ron Smith and Jon Perry won tight frames for Kinver as Jon Bate, Mark Hatton and Dean Banks stretched the Institute’s advantage.

Chris Jevons was in good form for Kingswinford Cons A in their victory over Baggeridge Social with breaks of 41 and 31.

NORTON Social B stretched their lead on top of Division Two with a 3-2 success against Stourbridge Old Edwardians.

STOURBRIDGE were beaten 5-2 by Dudley in the West Midlands Inter-Town competition – a trophy which Stourbridge have won for the past three years.

Dudley triumphed through talented 15-year-old Luke Smith, Neil Marshall, Pete Lewis plus brothers Dave and Phil Thompson.