Lye Town is the new name on the JW Hunt Cup after a 2-1 victory over Midland League premier division rivals Boldmere St Michaels.

The game at AFC Wulfrunians’ Castlecroft Stadium was the 94th final of a competition founded in 1926. The Covid pandemic meant it was the first since 2019.

The game was won by a special goal from Ben Billingham on 73 minutes, who curled home a free kick from 25 yards. His all-round display earned him the man-of-the-match trophy sponsored by Hunt Cup committee man Les Pickerill.

Boldmere, also first-time finalists, started better and a defensive slip let in Isaac Phillips only for goalkeeper Ben Newey to come out and block his effort.

Lye came more into the game and took the lead on 13 minutes. Billingham’s corner was not cleared and Adam Meacham scored from close range.

Although Lye were on top for the rest of the half, the best chances fell to Mikes with Steve Palmer having an effort blocked and Ben George firing over from distance.

Boldmere were quick out of the blocks in the second half and were rewarded on 52 minutes when Lewis Archer glanced home a Danny O’Sullivan cross.

Then came Billingham’s free kick and Lye made sure they stayed in charge for the rest of the match.

A well-attended game will go further to ensuring the committee can again make a five-figure donation to the Beacon Centre for the Blind which benefits from all the cup’s proceeds